Series' format

In 2017-18 a new format took place instead of the playoffs: a post season series. The 2019 series are similar with some amendements.

The peculiarities are:

  1. An even number of teams per level will participate to have an equal number of matchs for each team. There will be no bye.
    • In 2019 levels 2, 3 & 4 will have 18 teams participating in the series. In level 1, 10 teams will compete.
  2. At least three rounds of matches for each participating team in levels 2, 3 and 4. At least 4 rounds of matchs for participating teams in level 1.
  3. At the end of these 3 or 4 matchs, the teams are ranked according to a predetermined sorting.

Level II, III & IV: The top 4 teams at the end of the 3 rounds are determined in the following order:

  1. The total number of team wins prevails. (a win of 3-0 or 2-1)
  2. The total number of courts won. (3, 2 or 1 per round). During the regular season, this is the first column in the "Classement" on Tenniscores.
  3. The total number of set points. (Max: 9 per round) During the regular season this is the second column in the "Classement" on Tenniscores, a match won in 2 sets is worth 3 points.
  4. The % of games won. During the regular season, this is under the "Statistics" tab, in the last column named % (Games)

The teams finishing in the first four positions play a semi-final (1 VS 4; 2 VS 3).
The winners of the semi-final go through to the FINALS.

Level I: Teams are ranked as above. The teams ranked first & second in each group play in the semi-final. Ranked first in group A VS 2nd in group A, the first in group B VS the 2nd in group B (since they haven't met each other in the series yet) SEE Level I rounds.

ADDED at the December 12 2018 captain's meeting: The losers of the semi-final play for third place on Thursday April 25 2019. (The team higher in the regular season's standings will receive)

Finish or concede a match

During the series leading to the finals, the administrative committee of TFIM request that all matches be finished in the same manner as the regular season. All matches count towards the ranking.

However, the committee recognizes that it is ultimately up to the players involved to decide if they want to continue or not. To maintain our transparency and how the CRA is calculated in Tenniscores, it is absolutely necessary to have actual scores and to identify the winning team on three courts.

The following guidelines are suggested to determine the winners of a match being conceded or unfinished:

It must be decided: Which team concedes the match?
The team that concedes loses the game; the victory is awarded to the opponents.
If both teams cannot agree on who concedes the match, the game must continue to determine the winners in the same way as during the regular season.

NOTE: follow the rule of the day at the finals.

In Tenniscores:

For each finished match: The score is entered normally and the winning team is selected from the drop down menu.

For a conceded match: "not finished conceded" is entered in the COMMENTS box. The team declared the winner is selected from the drop down menu. The score for a set must be greater in number for the winners of the set. If the team who concedes was losing when stopping the score is entered as such. If the team who concedes led when stopping, they concede the number of games necessary for their opponents to have a majority of games for each set. EX: the score when stopping was 6-4, 4-2 becomes 6-4, 4-5 and 0-1.

FAQ - post season

Series' rounds

 Questions: How are the matches made? Is it a round-robin?

Answer: Normally in a round robin with 16 teams one match is played against the other 3 teams in the group. In a normal round robin, there is an order to respect following the standing. TFIM chose a format close to a round-robin with differences: a format of 3 rounds with a draw at random to form the groups. See Draw to make-up the groups.

With 18 teams participating, two groups of 5 (uneven) and two groups of 4 (even) and 3 rounds per group. Between groups A and B, one match per week is intergroup. Two teams form the same row never play against each other; there is one exception "A3 vs B3". 

ROUNDS for a tournament with 18 teams
Round #1   Round #2   Round #3  
A1 receive A5 A1 receive A3 A1 receive A2
A2 receive A4 A2 receive A5 A3 receive A4
B1 receive B4 B1 receive B3 B1 receive B2
B2 receive B5 B2 receive B4 B3 receive B5
A3 ? B3 A4 receive B5 B4 receive A5
C1 receive C4 C1 receive C3 C1 receive C2
C2 receive C3 C2 receive C4 C3 receive C4
D1 receive D4 D1 receive D3 D1 receive D2
D2 receive D3 D2 receive D4 D3 receive D4

Which team receives during the post season series?

The team that has the highest ranking at the end of the regular season will always host. The number in front of each team name signifies it's ranking at the end of the regular season.

Ball distribution

How are the balls distributed for the post season tournament?

The team that had the highest ranking, during the regular season, receives. At the captains' meeting these teams are given the balls for the whole tournament.

What is the consequence if an unqualified player is in line-up?

Rule 2.7.4 stipulates that only qualified players can play in the playoffs. You must declare a default as during the regular season if you do not have enough qualified players. Any enfringement to any TFIM rules may lead to loosing that playoff round.

How positions are decided in the standings

The standings are sorted in the following order:

1. the team that won the most matches prevails,

2. the team that has the most set points

If there is still a tie, head to head matchup between these teams and:

3. the team that has the most matches prevails,

4. the team that has the most set points.

La petite Bretonne