Question: During an infraction of the CRA rule, the team at fault is penalized. Why aren't the opponents rewarded for playing a match that was at fault?
Answer: Without question, the CRA rule has to be respected. The total CRA per court has to be greater on the first and less as you go down the following courts. Even if the totals are 0.01 difference, the rule has to be respected. The errors are usually made by the captain or the coach and players unaware that this rule is broken. It is only after the event that the infraction is discovered. We believe these matches are played fairly and in good faith.
In 2014, the TFIM board of administrators decided to eliminate the reversing of matches that sometimes rewarded the opponents or didn't change anything because the courts at fault has loss. TFIM added a penalty on top of that. This was extremely uneven for an offense that was the same for all occasions. The CRA of the concerned players were affected and did not reflect the reality.
Since the 2014-15 season, a penalty of 2 points is added in the Standings of the team at fault and the players are not penalized. The CRA generated by the match reflects a match that was actually played in fairness. You have to realize that this error was not made willingly and since the players are not aware, cannot be penalized or matches awarded to their opponents.